Breakfast, Drinks
Leave a Comment

Banana Berry Blitz (how original)

DSC_0717

I know, I know, banana berry blitz? It’s been done so many times before but I honestly couldn’t come up with anything else. Who cares what it’s called anyway? I’ll tell you what you should care about, how quick, easy and delicious this smoothie is.

DSC_0732

Sometimes I find it really hard to eat breakfast, especially when I have work early. This smoothie is super easy to make and nice and healthy. All you need is some yoghurt, oats, banana and frozen berries.

DSC_0704

The oats are made up of half soluble and insoluble fibres, which has been found to lower blood cholesterol. The yoghurt can be your decision really, if you want greek, natural or vanilla, go for it! It adds calcium for your bones and is high in protein too. The fruit obviously is good for you too, with antioxidants and vitamins, it also helps to colour the smoothie a delightful pink.

DSC_0705

My favourite yoghurt was all gone :(

DSC_0707

Smack all the ingredients into a blender/processor.

DSC_0709

DSC_0711

Blend it up baby!

DSC_0712

Look at that gorgeous pink colour!

Ingredients
2 parts yoghurt
1 part oats
1 banana, chopped
1 handful of frozen berries, I use strawberries and raspberries

Method
Put all the ingredients into a blender or food processor. I found it blended better in a processor, when I did it in a blender all the oats got stuck under the blades. It doesn’t really matter, whatever you have on hand will work. Blend it up! If you want it a bit more liquid-y, add more yoghurt or a dash of milk.

DSC_0730

If that doesn’t look like a perfect breakfast then there is no pleasing you!

DSC_0680

Here is a bonus picture of my kitty, Toulouse, looking at me jealously while I drank it all up.

 

Leave a comment