Bites
Leave a Comment

Low calorie series + life update

Over the next few weeks I’ll be doing a low calorie series special! I’ll be posting some really delicious recipes under 400 calories each that can be part of your weekly meal prep and healthy lifestyle. I’ll also include a few posts about what I eat in a typical day. All my recipes will include the calories, carbohydrate, protein and fat amounts and a link to MyFitnessPal for the exact nutritional break down and so you can log the recipe without having to input it yourself.

Some of the recipes I’ll be featuring include:

  • A super delicious Portuguese chicken curry (339 cal)
  • Traditional sausages and mash (222 cal)
  • Beef Rendang (369 cal)
  • Easy banana, cinnamon and brown sugar porridge
  • Foolproof roasted vegetables

Calorie amounts are per serving.

I have not sacrificed any flavour whatsoever in making these meals low calorie, it’s about proper serving sizes, including vegetables and making healthy swaps.

In other news I made a super amazingly delicious croquembouche for my boyfriend’s mum’s birthday. If you’re not sure what that is, it’s basically a tower of profiteroles covered in toffee. It was so much fun to make! I made three fillings; a Bailey’s chocolate, caramel, and mousseline. Unfortunately I stabbed my gum with the super sharp shards of toffee and I also forgot to take pictures of it. The good news is that I will be putting up a recipe and some photos for delicious and very easy profiteroles!

Towards the end of November the boyfriend and I will be spending 3 weeks in Japan!! We’ll be there just in time to catch the end of the autumn season and to go skiing in Nagano. I’m so, so, so excited!!! He’s never seen snow before so that will be really fun for him. I’m a bit worried about making a complete ass of myself skiing, he’s got great balance and I’ve never been able to stand upright on ice skates….

Expect lot’s of photos from the trip, especially photos of food. I’ll most likely do a little series on Japan when I get back about the culture, food and the sights.

Leave a Reply

