Baking
Comments 2

Neapolitan Cakes

I was on pinterest I think, and I saw some little neapolitan cupcakes. I loved the colours and it reminded me of my childhood. We always had neapolitan ice cream because my mum loved vanilla and my dad loved strawberry. I immediately thought I should make something neapolitan, but not cupcakes, I wanted something a little bit different.

Neapolitan Cakes

After finishing my never-fail brownies (the recipe is coming soon!) I didn’t really know what to do with them. At the same time, I also had a craving for some nice vanilla cake, so I had baked a nice big one and then I had an idea. Why not make theses into neapolitan cakes?

bites

I searched the house for some small circle cutters and found none, so I used shot glasses. Folks, I do not recommend this! When I pushed down on the brownies they got stuck inside, so I had to use a skewer to gently pry them out of the glass. It was not fun. When I got to the vanilla cake I cut around the shot glass with a small, sharp knife. It worked great and they were a perfect circle BUT they were a fraction bigger than the brownie circles… I just had to make it as difficult as humanly possible for myself. Determined to make them perfect, I stacked each cake circle on top of a brownie one and used a knife to shave down the sides until they were approximately the same size. Woo! They were starting to look great! The frosting was easy as pie, I just beat some butter with around 3 squished strawberries, a splash of vanilla and added icing sugar as I went. The icing was so delicious, fresh strawberries gave is a lovely, delicate strawberry taste and a cute pink tint.

Neapolitan Cakes

Just like neapolitan ice cream, my boyfriend and I ate it differently. He ate it all together and I ate the chocolate first and then the vanilla and strawberry. This recipe is also great if you just want to make the little vanilla cakes with the frosting and omit the chocolate, or omit the vanilla and have the brownies with the frosting. I love how they look like roses from above.

I didn’t really measure anything out for the frosting, so all I can really give you is an estimate and the photos to help.

Neapolitan Cakes strawberry frosting

Squish those strawberries! I used about 3-4, it depends on the size.

Neapolitan Cakes strawberry frosting

Add them to the beaten butter with the vanilla and keep beating.

Neapolitan Cakes strawberry frosting

Sift 1 cup of icing sugar and beat.

Neapolitan Cakes strawberry frosting

You can still see some lumps of butter, I recommend beating the butter well in step one so you don’t have this problem.

Neapolitan Cakes strawberry frosting

I added another cup of powdered sugar and as you can see, most of the lumps are gone.

Neapolitan Cakes

After piping onto the cakes I put some sprinkles for the final touch of cuteness.

Ingredients
1 batch of brownies (my never-fail brownies will be posted in a few days!)
1 vanilla cake (I made one from scratch, but you can use a box cake if you like)
3-4 strawberries, squished with a fork
1/2 cup of butter, cubed
1/2-1 tsp vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar (I didn’t really measure this, I would start with 1 cup and keep adding until you get a consistency you like)

Method
Use a small circle cookie cutter to the size you want. Cut out the same size circles in the brownies and the vanilla cake. If you have some frosting hanging around in the fridge, put a little on top of the brownie and place a cake circle on top.

In a bowl beat the butter, vanilla and strawberries until no lumps of butter. Add the powdered sugar half a cup at a time, beating between each addition. Keep adding powdered sugar until the frosting is at a consistency you’re happy with. It may look like not enough frosting, but for me, it frosted all the cakes and only used half of it.

Spoon it into a piping bag and put it in the fridge for a minute. Take it out of the fridge and pipe onto the vanilla cake. Serve with some sprinkles or even a tiny cherry. Enjoy!!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award They Like Me! They Really Like Me! | Vegas Hungry Girl

Leave a Reply

