Dessert
Comment 1

Vanilla bean custard

DSC_0463

My friend absolutely loves custard, like an abnormal love for custard. This guy can eat a huge bowl of it in a few minutes.. cold too. Apparently heating it takes away time that he could be eating it. My friend did me a huge favour and he wanted custard as his payment, which I was happy to agree to. I decided to make him a nice big batch of vanilla bean custard to show my appreciation. I dressed it up a little by putting it in a mason jar. I cut out a square of wrapping paper, placed it on top and secured it with a gold ribbon. What a cute little christmas gift to surprise a custard lover!

DSC_0460

I really like this recipe and I made it for my boyfriend who had never tried homemade custard. I added a few splashes of Kahlua to it and it blew his mind! Needless to say I’ve been making a lot of custard lately. Custard is really simple to make, it just takes a little patience to stand there and constantly stir. The end result is sooo worth the 10 minutes because this custard is silky, creamy and delicious! I love the little flecks you can see thanks to the vanilla bean.

DSC_0461

Vanilla bean custard
– 600ml/fluid oz. milk
– 4x medium egg yolks
– 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
– 1 vanilla bean/1 tsp of vanilla bean gel
– 1 tbs cornflour

Method
In a medium saucepan heat the milk on medium heat until it gets hot and little bubbles form on the outside. Don’t let it boil though!Β In a heatproof bowl combine the egg yolks, sugar, vanilla bean and cornflour and set aside.

When the milk is hot enough add a tbs to the egg mix while whisking. Keep whisking and add the milk slowly. If you don’t stir it then the hot milk will cook the eggs and you don’t want that. After you’ve added all the milk pour it back into the saucepan on low heat. Keep stirring the custard with a wooden spoon until the custard coats the spoon and is significantly thicker. Serve it up right away with some pie or enjoy it by itself because it is that good! If you want to make it even better you can add your favourite liqueur like Baileys or Kahlua.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Blueberry & Almond Lattice Pie | deliciousdeliciousbagel

Leave a Reply

