Dinner
Comments 3

Katsudon

DSC_0197

My favourite food in the world is Japanese. I love it! This is an amazingly good recipe with panko fried chicken or pork with a delicious soy, mirin and onion sauce and an egg on top. Ohhhh man it’s so good. This meal is hugely filling and I use either chicken medallions or pork loin cuts, for their lean cuts. I got this recipe from Cooking with dog, the most delightful cooking channel on youtube, where a poodle hosts the show. Even if you have never heard of this dish, your should definitely try it.

DSC_0194I like mine with the sauce and onion on the rice, the meat on top and no egg. Just because I’m fussy. I’m sure if you eat katsudon you’re thinking, “whaat, that’s not katsudon!” WELL I like my crispy panko chicken to stay crispy :))

Katsudon (Cut-soo-don) serves 1
– 1/2 brown onion
– 1tbs soy sauce, good quality like kikkoman
– 1tbs mirin
– 1tsp sugar
– 1/2 tsp stock powder
– 1/5 cup water
– panko
– 2x egg, lightly beaten
– flour
– 1 piece pork loin/2 chicken medallions (max 75g/2.6oz)
– 1 1/2 cup cooked rice
– 1/4-1/2 cup oil

Method
Cook 1 cup of rice in a steamer. Coat your meat in flour and shake off excess. Dip in one egg and the coat with panko. Place in a hot pan with oil and shallow fry 4 minutes one side, 2 minutes the other side. Place on a paper towels and let drain. Cut into Β thick pieces and set aside.

DSC_0182

DSC_0191

Oh my god this makes the most satisfying crunch sound when you cut it.

In a small pan add the onion, water, soy sauce, mirin and sugar and cook on medium heat. Let cook for a few minutes until onions are soft.

DSC_0186

Place the meat in the pan with the onions. Pour the egg into the pan and let cook to your liking. When reading spoon rice into a bowl, pour over sauce and place meat and egg on top. Enjoy.

3 Comments

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website
    before but after going through a few of the
    articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

