Baking
Leave a Comment

Lemon Meringue Pie

DSC_0696

Oh god I love pies. If you haven’t noticed, that is pretty much all I bake. I can stop whenever I want though, I don’t have a problem. Don’t look at me like that… The other thing I am kind of obsessed with is lemon. What better idea than to merge the two together and bake a glorious lemon meringue pie?! I love the tangy and creamy curd, the soft and fluffy meringue and the crunchy and flaky pastry. Oh man, just… yumm. This was actually the first time I made my own pie crust. I’m not to fond of them because of the floury taste, so I usually just use some puff pastry but this time I was pleasantly surprised.

DSC_0707

Every time I make a lemon curd I’m always reminded how the yellow colour doesn’t come from the lemons, but the egg yolks. I always find that surprising when I make it. I also made more curd than needed for the pie so I made these delicious little puff pastry parcels filled with some brown sugar and leftover curd. What a fast and delicious way to use it up!

DSC_0685

Lemon Meringue Pie adapted from Modern Australian Food
Pastry
– 1 1/2 cups plain (all-purpose flour)
– 1 tbs icing sugar
– 140g/4 1/2 oz cold butter, chopped roughly
– 1 egg yolk
– 2 tbs cold water

– 1/2 cup cornflour (cornstarch)
– 1 cup caster (superfine) sugar
– 1/2 cup (2 med lemons) fresh lemon juice
– 1 tsp grated lemon rind
– 60g/2oz unsalted butter, roughly chopped
– 4 eggs separated
– 1/2 cup caster (superfine) sugar, extra

DSC_0690

Method
Make the pastry first: In a food processor, blend flour, icing sugar and butter until it resembles breadcrumbs. Add egg yolk and water and process until combined. Knead the dough on a floured surface until smooth. Wrap pastry in plastic and place in fridge for 30 mins.

Grease or line a 24cm/9.5inch tart tin with baking paper. Roll the pastry between two sheets of baking paper until it’s big enough to fit in tin. Gently place pastry into tin and trim to fit. Cover with plastic and place in fridge for Β 30 mins.

Preheat oven to 240C/475F. Place baking paper over pastry and fill with beans or rice. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove paper and beans/rice and bake for 10 mins. Let cool.

To make curd combine cornflour and sugar in a saucepan. Stir in juice and water until silky. Cook, mixing over high heat until mix thickens and boils. Reduce and let simmer 1 min. Take off heat and stir in butter, rind and egg yolks. Cool 10 mins.

Pour into pastry case and cover with plastic. Place in fridge for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 240C/475F. Beat egg whites in a bowl until peaks form. Gradually add sugar and beat until glossy. Score lines on lemon curd with fork to prevent meringue from shrinking when cooked. Spread out meringue and bake 5 mins or until lightly browned.

DSC_0700

Leave a Reply

